Research Concept

Significance of research on ageing

Getting old was always a problem that moved people. In the book 'Utopia' by Thomas More, which was published in 1516, we read that the problem of ageing forms an obstacle towards reaching 'paradise on earth': „..... which as it carries many diseases along with it, so it is a disease of itself“. In the industrialized world birth rates are declining and life expectancy increases. This creates the necessity to deal with the consequences of larger numbers of old people in society and also to investigate the process of ageing itself, as well as the diseases that are linked to the ageing process.

 

Ageing is by and large a complex stochastic process based on genetic contributions as well as environmental influences. The process is still ill-understood. Over the last decades, a deeper understanding of several genetic diseases and of carcinogenesis has been reached. It is justified to expect that the ageing process and the degenerative diseases linked to it are now and will soon be even better accessible to the methodology of modern biological research. In the longer term treatments for degenerative diseases may also be designed based on the improved understanding of ageing and diesease mechanisms.

 

An important societal goal is healthy ageing. The desire to reach older age in good health and with good mental and physical performance meets numerous obstacles, some of which are already established at a young age. The problem of ageing is thus not limited to senescence, the period of degenerative processes, but is rather a much wider process, whose investigation must address misdevelopments earlier in life. The ultimate goal must be to disrupt the link between age and bad health.

 

It is quite certain that we do not reach the genetically possible age for a number of reasons (currently proven oldest age is 122 years). To dissect the limiting genetic factors is another important goal which overlaps with the aims mentioned above.

 

Research focus and contribution of FLI

The overall goal at FLI is the dissection of mechanisms of decisive processes, in particular pathological processes which lead to consequences for health and healthy ageing. Within this broad area, specific topics are chosen that are formally divided into two programme sections which are highly interconnected through scientific content and methodology. E.g., in the section 'Cellular and organismic senescence', the stability of the genome is investigated on various levels by several research groups. In addition, the epigenetic regulation of genes, and the identification of new genes involved in ageing are investigated predominantly by using genomic approaches. The programme section 'Specific age-associated diseases' selects defined examples of the age pathology. Currently, mechanisms leading to protein folding diseases (e.g. amyloidoses, Alzheimer’s disease, Huntington Chorea) and other neurodegenerative diseases are analyzed by structural biology and by exploiting appropriate in vitro-models as well as animal models. Mechanisms causing organ dysfunction related to ageing (e.g. kidney failure, osteoporosis, immunosenescence) and cancer are investigated as well. The experimental methodology ranges from protein biochemistry, structure analysis and cell culture to animal models of disease.

 

Current, ongoing research projects are reflected by the topics of our independent research groups. One strength of our approach is the exploitation of different, complementing experimental methodologies which range from protein biochemistry, structure analysis, molecular and cell biology in tissue culture to animal models of disease. In addition, concepts and results of our basic research approaches are also translated into clinical studies using patient material. For a recent overview on clinical studies see the current list.


 

Cranach, Jungbrunnen

 

 

 

 

 

 

CRANACH, Lucas the Elder
(born 1472 in Kronach, died 1553 in Weimar)
The Fountain of Youth

 

Cranach's painting is about the human yearning for immortality and eternal youth. The centre of the scene is a pool filled with water. In the left half of the picture old women are stepping into the water where the gradual process of rejuvenation takes place. To the right, they emerge from the water as young girls and are welcomed by a cavalier who shows them to a tent where they receive new clothes.

 


Last update: February 21, 2008

top of the page

Das Forschungskonzept des FLI

Die Bedeutung der Altersforschung

Das Älterwerden war von je her ein Problem, das die Menschen bewegt hat. In dem Buch „Utopia“ von Thomas More können wir lesen, dass das Problem des Älterwerdens uns daran hindert, das „Paradies auf Erden“ zu erlangen: „da es viele Krankheiten mit sich bringt und somit selbst eine Krankheit ist“. In der industrialisierten Welt sinken die Geburtenraten, während sich die Lebenserwartung erhöht. Diese Tatsache macht es zwingend notwendig, sich mit den Folgen der steigenden Anzahl älterer Menschen in der Gesellschaft auseinanderzusetzen und den Alterungsprozess selbst sowie die damit einhergehenden Krankheiten zu untersuchen.

 

Das Altern ist ein komplexer, stochastischer Prozess, der durch genetische Faktoren und Umweltfaktoren beeinflußt wird. Man kann erwarten, dass das bessere Verständnis von mehreren, auch genetisch bedingten Krankheiten, die Altersforschung vorantreiben. Der Alterungsprozess und die damit verbundenen degenerativen Krankheiten können dadurch mit modernen biologischen Forschungsansätzen besser erforscht werden. Auf lange Sicht sollte auch die medizinische Behandlung degenerativer Krankheiten möglich sein.

 

Ein wichtiges Ziel unserer Gesellschaft ist es, gesund älter zu werden. Dem Wunsch, in einem guten Gesundheitszustand und mit guter physischer und mentaler Leistungsfähigkeit ein hohes Alter zu erreichen, stehen mehrere Hindernisse im Wege, wovon manche schon in jungem Alter determiniert sein können. Das Problem des Älterwerdens ist demzufolge nicht auf die Seneszenz oder auf die Periode degenerativer Prozesse beschränkt. Es ist vielmehr ein kontinuierlicher Prozess, bei dessen Erforschung auch Fehlentwicklungen im jungen Alter berücksichtigt werden sollten. Das oberste Ziel sollte es sein, die Verbindung zwischen Alter und Krankheit zu unterbrechen.

 

Aus einer Vielzahl von Gründen kann man davon ausgehen, dass das genetisch mögliche Alter meist nicht erreicht wird (das zur Zeit höchste dokumentierte Alter ist 122 Jahre). Genetischen Faktoren zu analysieren, die das Erreichen des genetisch möglichen Alters beschränken, ist daher ein weiteres wichtiges Ziel, das sich mit den bereits erwähnten Zielsetzungen überschneidet.

 

Forschungsschwerpunkt und Beitrag des FLI

Das übergreifende Ziel des FLI ist es, die Mechanismen entscheidender, insbesondere pathologischer, Prozesse zu analysieren, aus denen Schlussfolgerungen über die Gesundheit und über gesundes Altern gezogen werden können.

 

Innerhalb dieses weiten Forschungsfelds werden spezifische Themen ausgewählt, die formell in zwei Programmschwerpunkte aufgeteilt werden, die aber aufgrund ihrer wissenschaftlichen Inhalte und Methodik stark miteinander verbunden sind. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist der Schwerpunkt „Alterung von Zellen und Organismen“, in der die Stabilität von Genomen und Telomeren von mehreren Forschungsgruppen auf verschiedenen Ebenen untersucht wird. Hier werden außerdem, vorwiegend mit genomischen Ansätzen, die epigenetische Steuerung von Genen untersucht sowie neue Gene identifiziert, die in dem Alterungsprozess involviert sind. Der Schwerpunkt „Spezifische altersbezogene Krankheiten“ behandelt ausgewählte Beispiele von Alterskrankheiten. Gegenwärtig werden Mechanismen untersucht, die zu Proteinfaltungserkrankungen führen, z.B. Amyloidosen, Alzheimer und Chorea Huntington sowie andere neurodegenerative Krankheiten. Hierbei werden strukturbiologische Ansätze wie auch geeignete in vitro-Modelle sowie Tiermodelle verwendetet. Mechanismen, die altersbedingte Fehlfunktionen bestimmter Organe (z.B. Nierenversagen, Osteoporose, Immunoseneszenz) und Krebs hervorrufen, werden ebenfalls erforscht. Die experimentelle Methodik reicht hier von Protein-Biochemie, Strukturanalyse und Zellkulturen bis hin zu Tiermodellen der Erkrankungen.

 

Die momentan aktuellen Forschungsprojekte ergeben sich aus den Themen der unabhängigen Forschungsgruppen am FLI. Eine Stärke unseres Forschungsansatzes liegt in der Ausnutzung verschiedener, sich gegenseitige ergänzender experimenteller Methoden. Diese reichen von Protein-Biochemie über Strukturanalysen, molekulare und Zellbiologie in Gewebekulturen, bis hin zu Tiermodellen der untersuchten Krankheiten. Die Konzepte und Resultate dieser Grundlagenforschung werden aber auch auf klinische Studien übertragen, die an Patienten durchgeführt werden. Einen Überblick über aktuelle klinische Studien finden Sie hier.


 

Cranach, Jungbrunnen

 

 

 

 

 

 

CRANACH, Lucas der Ältere
(1472 geboren in Kronach, 1553 gestorben in Weimar)
Der Jungbrunnen (Auszug)

 


Last update: February 21, 2008

Seitenanfang